Iron Workers 787 Apprenticeship Notice

Joint Apprenticeship Committee  —  NEWS RELEASE



The Iron Workers Local 787 JAC will be accepting Applications on Wednesdays weekly (except holidays) during regular business hours from 8:00 A.M. – 12:00 P.M. & 1:00 P.M. -4:30 P.M. for the Iron Workers Apprenticeship Program.  Applications will be given out at the Iron Workers Union Hall, 303 Erickson Blvd., Parkersburg, West Virginia.  You must fill the Application out in person at the Union Hall.  Any change in contact information is the responsibility of the Applicant.


The following are the minimum requirements.  Lack of any one of these will automatically disqualify the Applicant.  No Applicant will be rejected because ofrace, color, religion, national origin, or sex.  Iron Workers Local 787 will take affirmative action to provide equal opportunities in apprenticeship.

  • Must be at least 18 years (Proofrequired)
  • Must be capable of doing work of the Iron Worker
  • Must be a High School Graduate or have equivalent certificate (GED).
  • Must have a valid Driver’s
  • Must score a passing grade on the TABB test given by
  • Must live in the jurisdictional area of the Iron Workers Local 787, Parkersburg, West Virginia, for at least one (1) year previous to applying for this
  • Ifselected for the Apprenticeship Program, the candidate must submit to and pass the Substance Abuse Test offered by the Parkersburg-Marietta Contractors and Trades Educational and Development The Iron Workers Local 787 JAC will pay the cost of the test.


The jurisdictional  area covered by Iron Workers Local 787 of the International Association of Bridge, Structural, Ornamental and Reinforcing Iron Workers is as follows:

OHIO:  Athens, Meigs, Morgan, Noble, and Washington Counties.

WEST VIRGINIA:  Boone, Braxton, Calhoun, Clay, Doddridge, Fayette, Gilmer, Jackson, Kanawha, Lewis, Lincoln, Logan, Mason, McDowell, Mingo, Nicholas, Pleasants, Putnam, Raleigh, Ritchie, Roane, Upshur, Webster, Wirt, Wood, and Wyoming Counties, and the southern portion of Randolph County.

VIRGINIA:  Buchanan, Dickenson, Russell, Tazewell, Washington, and Wise Counties.

KENTUCKY: Pike County.